US Federal Holidays

There are ten annual U.S. federal holidays on the calendar designated by the Congress of the USA.  Around the world many countries have national or bank holidays (the UK for example has UK bank holidays ) but because the US Congress does not have authority in the constitution it can not create them.  The US States however can, here are the Federal holidays for 2018:-

New Year’s Day                               January 1            Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day         January 15          Monday
George Washington’s Birthday   February 19        Monday
Memorial Day                                 May 28                Monday
Independence Day                         July 4                  Wednesday
Labor Day                                        September 3      Monday
Columbus Day                                October 8            Monday
Veterans Day                                   November 12     Monday
Thanksgiving Day                           November 22    Thursday
Christmas Day                                 December 25     Tuesday

Additionally Inauguration Day is an eleventh holiday designated by Congress for observance every four years on January 20 following a U. S. presidential election. Only for government employees and agencies in Washington D.C. it co-incides with the presidents inaugoration.